Our Services
About Us
Chamber Membership
Chamber News
Trade Missions
Investment Opportunities, Conferences, Trade Fairs & Exhibitions - 2011
Trade Statistics
Arab Countries Map
Contacting the Chamber
Useful Links
Useful Information
Media Archive

The Somali Democratic Republic

Somalia Fact File
Country name Somali Democratic Republic
Population 9 million July 2007 estimate
Languages Somalian [official], Arabic, English & Italian
Currency Somalia Shilling
Official Religion Islam
Capital Mogadishu
Business Hours Government Offices & States Enterprises:
07:30 to 14:30 [Saturday to Thursday]
Banks: 08:00 to 12:00 [Saturday to Thursday]
Commercial Offices: 08:00 to 13:00 and 16:00 to 19:00 [Saturday to Thursday]
Hours vary during Ramadhan
Embassy requirements and legalisation fees
All shipments to Somali must be covered by an Arab-Irish Certificate of Origin and along with an Invoice must be certified by the JA-ICC. If legalisation is required then our Chamber will arrange legalisation by the relevant Embassy.
Health and Radiation Certificates are often required for food, meat and poultry consignments.
A Halal Certificate stating that slaughter was according to Muslim law must accompany fresh, frozen meat and poultry.
All personal documentation e.g. Degree Certificates or Marriage Certificates must be stamped by the Department of Foreign Affairs before submitting for certification and/or legalisation.
Check with the Chamber regarding fees.
Somali Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Agriculture
P.O.Box 27,
Tel.: (+252 1) 80726 or 81866
Please note that Embassies rules and regulations can and do change overnight. We bear no responsibility for any such changes. Any changes that do take place will be passed directly to our customers.
We regret that we cannot under any circumstances, intercede or take responsibility for any transactions initiated directly between an exporter and an Embassy.
The Joint Arab-Irish Chamber of Commerce [JA-ICC]: 60 Merrion Square, Dublin 2
Tel: + 353 1 662 4451 / 662 1577Fax: + 353 1 662 47 29Email:
2009 The Joint Arab Irish Chamber of Commerce
The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria
The Kingdom of Bahrain
The Republic of Djibouti
The Republic of Iraq
The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
The State of Kuwait
The Republic of Lebanon
Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
The Islamic Republic of Mauritania
The Kingdom of Morocco
The Sultanate of Oman
The State of Qatar
The Royal Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Somali Democratic Republic
The Republic of Sudan
The Syrian Arab Republic
The Republic of Tunisia
The United Arab Emirates
The Republic of Yemen